Announcing the 2014 Writivism Short Story Prize Longlist

The longlist  for the 2014 Writivism Short Story Prize has been announced today (Thursday 15 May 2014). The longlist  was selected from over 200 entries from 17 African countries by  team of five judges chaired by Ellen Banda-Aaku. The other judges are Zukiswa Wanner, Abubakar Adam Ibrahim, Emmanuel Sigauke and Glaydah Namukasa.

The 2014 longlist comprises:
Day After Tomorrow (Paul Ugbede – Nigeria)
Devils (Wise Nzikie Ngasa – Cameroon)
Dr Lawanson (Wale Lawal – Nigeria)
Fire in the Night (Myke Mwale – Zimbabwe)
Friday Night (Chumisa Paquita N)
Inside Outside (Nyachiro Lydia Kasese – Tanzania)
Kawesa (Arnold N. Musalia – Kenya)
Lunatic (Saaleha Bhamjee)
My Breasts (Nkiacha Atemnkeng – Cameroon)
Out of the Blue ( Saaleha Idrees Bamjee)
Survived by (Kelechi Njoku – Nigeria)
The Gift (Michelle Preen – South Africa)
The Wound of Shrinking (Melissa Kiguwa – Uganda)
Walls and Borders (Ssekandi Ronald Sseguja – Uganda)

The longlisted writers will work with writer Sumayya Lee in the next few days, to prepare their stories for publication in The 2014
Writivism Annual Anthology, to be co-published by Kushinda and The Centre for African Cultural Excellence (CACE).
From the fourteen longlisted stories, a shortlist of five will be announced on the 1st of June 2014. All the shortlisted writers will
travel to Kampala, for the 2014 Writivism Festival, where, on the evening of 21st June 2014, the winner of the $400 prize and other auxiliary prizes is to be announced.


9 thoughts on “Announcing the 2014 Writivism Short Story Prize Longlist

  1. Congratulations to you all. Special congrats to my compatriot, Myke Mwale. Wave your Zim flag like K’naan.

    My pen is capped


    Twitter @JeraAfrika


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s